Organization & Governance >

Organization & governance

The ERIC shall be governed and administered by the General Assembly, which shall be composed of representatives of the Members and Observers of the EU-SOLARIS ERIC.

EU-SOLARIS organization scheme

The Managing Director shall be the chief executive officer and legal representative of EU-SOLARIS ERIC and will be appointed by the General Assembly. EU-SOLARIS ERIC’ governing bodies shall be assisted by, at least, the following advisory bodies:

Other advisory bodies might be created, either permanently or for a specific project or subject, in a resolution adopted by the General Assembly with the corresponding majority.

EU-Solaris - general assembly

Delegates of the General Assembly

On 12 January 2023, the first General Assembly of EU-SOLARIS ERIC was held with delegates from each member and observer country. Diego Martínez-Plaza, former coordinator of the EU-SOLARIS initiative was appointed as Managing Director of EU-SOLARIS ERIC, while Ana María Aricha Yanguas was appointed as Chairperson of the General Assembly.


Ana María Aricha Yanguas (Chair)

Spanish Ministry of Science and Innovation

Julián Blanco Gálvez

CIEMAT-Plataforma Solar de Almería



Tarik Schwarzer

Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action

Manuel Blanco Muriel (Vice Chair)

Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e. V. (DLR)



Xavier Montagne

Minister of Higher Education, Research and Innovation

Gilles Flamant




Charalambos Papatryfonos 

Ministry of Research, Innovation and Digital Policy

Marios Georgiou

The Cyprus Institute-PROTEAS



Joao Cardoso

Laboratorio Nacional de Energia e Geologia (LNEG)

Diogo Canavarro

Universidade de Évora

Board of National Nodes



Eduardo Zarza Moya

CIEMAT-Plataforma Solar de Almería



Robert Pitz-Paal

Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e. V. (DLR)



Emmanuel Guillot / Ludovic Charpentier




Nestor Fylaktos

The Cyprus Institute


Scientific & Technical Commitee


Manuel Collares-Pereira

Universidade de Évora

Mark Mehos

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Juan Ignacio Burgaleta

Independent Consultant Engineer

Nesrin Ozalp

Illinois State University

Vassiliki Drosou

Centre for Renewable Energy Sources and Saving